Book Review & Giveaway: “Legacy of Lies” & “Legacy Lost” (Hell’s Valley #1-2) by Jillian David

Hello readers! Recently, I got the chance to interview author, Jillian David about her Hell’s Valley series, writing process, favorite authors, among other things! Check out the interview here if you missed it. Today I’ll be reviewing the first two books in the Hell’s Valley series which was so much fun to read! Jillian and I have also teamed up for an awesome giveaway opportunity for you all, so make sure to check it out. 🙂

Genre: Romance, Paranormal, Fiction

Page Length: 256 pages (electronic edition)

Synopsis: Garrison Taggart doesn’t have time to deal with touchy-feely junk like “trust issues” or “feelings.” His dad’s health is waning and the family’s Wyoming ranch is being sabotaged. Too bad his supernatural ability to tell when someone is lying has been exactly zero help in ferreting out the betrayer so far. So, when sweet schoolteacher Sara Lopez raises concerns about his son being bullied, who can blame a guy for getting a little testy?

The last thing Sara needs is any more attention or gossip after her recent breakup with big-shot rancher Hank Brand. So her attraction to surly but sexy Garrison, Hank’s rival, is entirely unwanted. When she uncovers an insane plot to kidnap the Taggart boy and throws herself in harm’s way to protect him, Garrison must risk his deepest secret and his own life to save the people he cares for the most. But will his heroics cost him everything? (description from Goodreads)


The Hell’s Valley series is paranormal western series about hot, psychic cowboys. Legacy of Lies follows a woman named Sara in rural town called Copper River. It’s such a small town where everyone knows everybody and their business. Nothing is a secret in this tight-knit rancher community. Sara first meets Garrison through his son, Zach’s parent-teacher conference and there is immediate chemistry. But Sara’s ex-boyfriend is Hank Brand which causes a problem as there is a beef between the Taggart and Brand family.

On top of everything, the Taggart family has special supernatural abilities. Shelby, Garrison’s younger sister, has a gift where she could read others’ emotions. Garrison has a lie-detector ability to see when people are telling the truth. And Garrison’s other brother Kerr, has GPS/tracking powers. I thought the psychic abilities were an interesting aspect and it was exciting to see them in action at certain critical points of the story.

I was pleasantly surprised to how this story tuned out through the course of the book. I usually do not go for cowboy books but something about this series has me hooked. I even devoured it in one sitting. The story caught me off guard and went into a direction I was not expecting and it keeps the readers on their toes.
The writing is also great! The details in Davids prose really immerse the reader into the whole experience. I felt like i was actually there on the ranch with the character. I liked the alternating POVs and being able to see the story from multiple views. This is a romance novel with the constant sizzling chemistry between Sara and Garrison and the great steamy scenes. But there’s also many action scenes that are engaging the book has some mystery/thriller elements with some of the events that occur in the story.

Final Verdict:

Genre: Romance, Paranormal, Fiction

Page Length: 268 pages (electronic edition)

Synopsis: Growing up as an honorary Taggart, Eric Patterson found the family he’d always wanted. Almost. He couldn’t ever manage to see the clan’s youngest and only daughter, stubborn spitfire Shelby, quite like a little sister. Suddenly, his long-suppressed feelings are determined to come to light.

Too bad Shelby’s cursed. Her double whammy psychic powers to read emotions and locate anyone anywhere have always made relationships impossible—and now they’ve begun to endanger her life. If she uses her echolocation skills again, it just might kill her.

But when a malevolent supernatural force invades the valley, threatening the Taggarts and their neighbors, the Brands, Eric and Shelby must contend with both their blossoming feelings and the increasing danger. Does Shelby dare risk using her powers one more time, sacrificing her own life to save Eric? (description from Goodreads)


The second novel picks up right where book one left off. Legacy Lost follows the story of Eric, the Taggart’s family friend and Shelby Taggart. Shelby has the ability to feel other people’s emotions around her. This scares and fascinates Eric because he’s always carried strong feelings for Shelby for many years. Shelby has also feels something for Eric too, but doesn’t want to admit for fear of ruining the relationship they already have.
Since Shelby discovers a new part of her power its caused her to have vision problems and it scared her. As a result she has to rely on Eric which is the last thing she wants. Book two follows the follows the friends to lovers plot. They have a good solid friendship and familiarity with each other that they can causally ease into conversation with each other because they’ve known each other for so long. Their romantic relationship probes to be a bit difficult and they both see each other partly as the younger version of each other.
The Brands are back at and are up to their evil schemes in book two. We learn more about the eerie, evil supernatural being( the Great One) that is slightly introduced in book one. The readers are alluded to the fact the Great One wants the Taggart’s land in order to gain back its powers. Under the influence of the Great One the Bran’s set out to destroy the Taggart family which leads to a climatic showdown that had me on edge.
As with book one, there’s not too much else I can say without giving too much of the plot away. Again, this was another awesome book! The plot was engaging and the build up to the climactic parts of the novel were so enthralling! I’m really enjoying the characters of the series and feel invested in their lives. I also like the realistic setting with supernatural elements. Legacy Lost came Like the first to a solid close which left me feeling satisfied, but wanting more. Looking forward to reading book three!

Final Verdict:


3 winners will receive digital copies of Legacy of Lies and Legacy Lost by Jillian David!

The giveaway will run from October 4th till the 12th at midnight!

Winners will be announced on October 13th through my Facebook and Twitter accounts and will be contacted directly through email.

Good luck to all that enter! 🙂


  • You must be 18 or older to enter
  • Only one winner per book bundle (books 1&2)
  • Only one entry per person
  • Winners will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter
  • Contest open Internationally
  • Giveaway accounts will be disqualified

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*FTC Disclaimer: I received these books from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Leave a Reply